News of the WeekMathematics

Top Honors Go to Math With a Physics Flavor

See allHide authors and affiliations

Science  28 Aug 1998:
Vol. 281, Issue 5381, pp. 1265-1267
DOI: 10.1126/science.281.5381.1265

You are currently viewing the summary.

View Full Text

Log in to view the full text

Log in through your institution

Log in through your institution


BERLIN-- Mathematicians officially anointed four new superstars when the 1998 Fields Medals were presented here last week at the opening ceremonies of the International Congress of Mathematicians. There is no Nobel Prize in mathematics, and the Fields Medal, awarded every 4 years by the International Mathematical Union (IMU), has become the discipline's highest honor. Unlike Nobels, Fields Medals are traditionally awarded only to mathematicians no older than 40 and are intended as much to encourage future work as to recognize past achievement.