News FocusNobel Prizes

NO News Is Good News--But Only for Three Americans

See allHide authors and affiliations

Science  23 Oct 1998:
Vol. 282, Issue 5389, pp. 610-611
DOI: 10.1126/science.282.5389.610

You are currently viewing the summary.

View Full Text

Log in to view the full text

Log in through your institution

Log in through your institution


This year's Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine went to Robert F. Furchgott, Louis J. Ignarro, and Ferid Murad for their discoveries regarding nitric oxide's role as a signaling molecule in the cardiovascular system. But the omission of a fourth researcher--pharmacologist Salvador Moncada of University College London--drew fire from some senior scientists, despite the fact that strict rules forbid the Nobel committee from dividing a prize among more than three researchers. For more information on this prize, see the Nobel Foundation Web site.