Poor Man's Nobel

+ See all authors and affiliations

Science  01 Nov 2002:
Vol. 298, Issue 5595, pp. 959c
DOI: 10.1126/science.298.5595.959c

A new global prize for scientific achievement—nicknamed the “poor man's Nobel”—was unveiled by the Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) at its biannual meeting in New Delhi, India, late last month. The $100,000 prize will go only to scientists who live and work in a developing country. The Trieste Prize—so called because TWAS and prize backer Illy Co., a coffee importer, are based in Trieste, Italy—will alternate annually between the physical and biological sciences. The first one will go to a biologist next year. The award is designed to remedy the fact that almost no top-caliber awards go to researchers working in developing countries, says mathematician Mohamed Hassan, executive director of TWAS. In the century-long history of the Nobel, Hassan says only three winners have been based in the developing world: Argentineans Luis Leloir (chemistry, 1970) and Bernardo Houssay (medicine, 1947); and an Indian, C. V. Raman, for physics in 1930.

Related Content

Navigate This Article