News of the WeekNobel Prizes

Three Economists Lauded for Theory That Helps the Invisible Hand

See allHide authors and affiliations

Science  19 Oct 2007:
Vol. 318, Issue 5849, pp. 375
DOI: 10.1126/science.318.5849.375a

You are currently viewing the summary.

View Full Text

Log in to view the full text

Log in through your institution

Log in through your institution


Leonid Hurwicz, Eric Maskin, and Roger Myerson have won this year's Nobel Prize in economics for developing "mechanism design theory," which aims to find schemes, or "mechanisms," that ensure that acting in self-interest will lead to benefits for all.