Honors to Researchers Who Probed Atomic Structure of Ribosomes

See allHide authors and affiliations

Science  16 Oct 2009:
Vol. 326, Issue 5951, pp. 346-347
DOI: 10.1126/science.326_346

You are currently viewing the summary.

View Full Text

Log in to view the full text

Log in through your institution

Log in through your institution


This year's Nobel Prize in chemistry was awarded to three scientists who revealed the atomic structure and inner workings of the ribosome: Ada Yonath of the Weizmann Institute of Science; Thomas Steitz of Yale University; and Venkatraman Ramakrishnan of the Medical Research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology. All three used a technique known as x-ray crystallography to pinpoint the position of thousands of atoms in the ribosome, and each will share one-third of the $1.4 million prize. But some researchers—including all three new Nobelists themselves—note that the Nobel Committee's self-imposed rule limiting each prize to no more than three recipients left other ribosome pioneers out in the cold.