Immunology Prize Overshadowed by Untimely Death of Awardee

See allHide authors and affiliations

Science  07 Oct 2011:
Vol. 334, Issue 6052, pp. 31
DOI: 10.1126/science.334.6052.31

You are currently viewing the summary.

View Full Text

Log in to view the full text

Log in through your institution

Log in through your institution

This article has a correction. Please see:


This year's Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine honors three scientists who unraveled key details of how the immune system becomes activated. One-half of the prize will go to Bruce Beutler of the Scripps Research Institute and Jules Hoffmann of the University of Strasbourg for their work on toll-like receptors, the cell surface proteins that help provide a broad, first-line defense against microbial pathogens. But the tragic death of the third winner, Ralph Steinman of Rockefeller University, grabbed most of the attention.

  • * With reporting by Jennifer Couzin-Frankel, Sara Reardon, Elizabeth Pennisi, and Martin Enserink.