Association Affairs

AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Award winners named

See allHide authors and affiliations

Science  27 Nov 2015:
Vol. 350, Issue 6264, pp. 1050
DOI: 10.1126/science.350.6264.1050

For the first time this year, the AAAS Kavli Awards included international entries in all categories and two prizes in each category.


Stories on the stressful impact of urban violence on children, the shared aptitudes of humans and songbirds for vocal learning, and the impact of climate change on the forests of Minnesota and beyond, are among the winners of the 2015 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards.

For the first time in the 70-year history of the program, entries were accepted from journalists around the globe in all award categories. The expansion was made possible by a generous doubling of the program endowment by The Kavli Foundation, which established the endowment in 2009. The new funds also permitted two awards in each of the eight categories for the first time—a Gold Award ($5,000) and a Silver Award ($3,500).

Just under 40% of the winners were international entries, comparable to the percentage of international entries received.

“The new global era for the AAAS Kavli awards is off to a great start,” said Rush Holt, chief executive officer of AAAS and executive publisher of the Science family of journals. “The breadth of the winning work and the diversity of outlets in which it appeared demonstrate the vitality of science journalism at a time when public understanding of science is more important than ever. I expect the awards will prove to mean as much for international science writers as they have over the years for science writers in the United States.”

The winners of the 2015 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards are:

Large Newspaper (Circulation of 150,000 or more) Gold Award: Andrea K. McDaniels, The Baltimore Sun, for “Collateral Damage” series: “City's Violence Can Take Hidden Toll,” 14 December 2014; “Some Wounded Wind Up at Home,” 18 December 2014; and “Hidden Sorrows,” 21 December 2014.

Large Newspaper Silver Award: Nathaniel Herzberg, Le Monde, for “Stéthoscope, Il n'a Plus le Monopole du Coeur” (The stethoscope no longer holds a monopoly over our hearts), 26 November 2014; “Anguilles, Sept mille lieues sous les mers” (Eels, 7000 leagues under the sea), 17 December 2014; and “La Souris, Reine Contestée des Labos” (The mouse, challenged queen of the lab), 18 February 2015.

Small Newspaper (Circulation less than 150,000) Gold Award: Matthew Miller, Lansing State Journal, for “Battle of the Ash Borer,” 27 July 2014.

Small Newspaper Silver Award: Helga Rietz, Neue Zürcher Zeitung (Switzerland), for “Arien für die Wissenschaft” (Arias for Science), 24 December 2014.

Magazine Gold Award: Alexandra Witze, Nature and Science News, for “The Quake Hunters” (in Nature), 9 July 2015; “The Pluto Siblings” (in Nature), 26 February 2015; “Let the River Run” (in Science News), 10 January 2015.

Magazine Silver Award: Amanda Gefter, Nautilus, for “The Man Who Tried to Redeem the World with Logic,” March/April 2015.

Television Spot News/Feature Reporting (20 minutes or less) Gold Award: Katie Campbell, KCTS 9 (Seattle), for “Is Alaska Safe for Sea Stars?” 8 October 2014.

Television Spot News/Feature Reporting Silver Award: Miles O'Brien, PBS NewsHour, for “Will a Robotic Arm Ever Have the Full Functionality of a Human Limb?” 12 February 2015; and “Can Modern Prosthetics Actually Help Reclaim the Sense of Touch?” 13 February 2015.

Television In-Depth Reporting (more than 20 minutes) Gold Award: Jonathan Renouf and Alex Freeman, BBC, for “Climate Change by Numbers,” 2 March 2015.

Television In-Depth Reporting Silver Award: Lone Frank and Pernille Rose Grønkjær, Danish Broadcasting Corporation, for “Genetic Me,” 26 November 2014.

Radio Gold Award: Rami Tzabar and Angela Saini, BBC Radio 4 and BBC World Service, for “What the Songbird Said,” 11 May 2015.

Radio Silver Award: Dan Kraker and Elizabeth Dunbar, Minnesota Public Radio, for “Climate Change in Minnesota: More Heat. More Big Storms,” 2 February 2015; “A Forest Dilemma: What Will Grow in a Changing Climate?” 3 February 2015; and “As State Warms, a Few Spots Keep Their Cool,” 3 February 2015.

Online Gold Award: Mark Harris, Backchannel, for “How a Lone Hacker Shredded the Myth of Crowdsourcing,” 9 February 2015.

Online Silver Award: Kevin Sack, Sheri Fink, Pam Belluck, and Adam Nossiter, with Daniel Berehulak, Dan Edge (for Frontline), and The New York Times graphics team, The New York Times, for “How Ebola Roared Back,” 29 December 2014.

Children's Science News Gold Award: Stephen Ornes, Science News for Students (online site), for “Where Will Lightning Strike?” 16 September 2014.

Children's Science News Silver Award: Joan Cartan-Hansen, Idaho Public Television, for “Science Trek: Bats—White Nose Syndrome,” 16 September 2014.

The awards, administered by AAAS since their inception in 1945, go to professional journalists for distinguished reporting for a general audience. Independent panels of science journalists pick the winners, who will receive their awards at the 2016 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, DC, in February. More information on the winning entries is available at:

Navigate This Article