News at a glance

See allHide authors and affiliations

Science  10 Aug 2018:
Vol. 361, Issue 6402, pp. 534-536
DOI: 10.1126/science.361.6402.534

eLetters is an online forum for ongoing peer review. Submission of eLetters are open to all. eLetters are not edited, proofread, or indexed.  Please read our Terms of Service before submitting your own eLetter.

Compose eLetter

Plain text

  • Plain text
    No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Author Information
First or given name, e.g. 'Peter'.
Your last, or family, name, e.g. 'MacMoody'.
Your email address, e.g.
Your role and/or occupation, e.g. 'Orthopedic Surgeon'.
Your organization or institution (if applicable), e.g. 'Royal Free Hospital'.
Statement of Competing Interests

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Enter the characters shown in the image.

Vertical Tabs

  • RE: Caucher Birkar presented a new Medal: Other Prizes at the International Congress of Mathematicians

    The article, Four medals awarded, one stolen, in the News at a glance needs to be updated [see Science, 361 (6402), 534-536 (10 August 2018), DOI: 10.1126/science.361.6402.534]. Firstly, Caucher Birkar was presented with a new Fields medal on fourth August in a brief but moving ceremony. There were also unexpected positive outcomes as a result of the theft of his medal, Birkar said. “This has been widely covered in the media, and I am now more famous! And the number of people who know what a Fields medal is way more than it was last week.”

    Secondly, the aforementioned article covered only the Fields Medal. Along with the most coveted Fields Medal, four other prestigious prizes are regularly awarded during the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) under the auspices of the International Mathematical Union ( The five prizes are Fields Medal, Nevanlinna Prize, Gauss Prize, Chern Medal and Leelavati Prize. The Fields Medal and the Nevanlinna Prize are targeted at younger mathematicians under the age of forty. The remaining three prizes do not have any restrictions on age. Both the Congress and the prizes have a four-year cycle.

    The winners for the 2018 are as follows. The Nevanlinna Prize was awarded to Constantinos Daskalakis (Greece), “for transforming our understanding of the computational complexity of fundamental problems in markets, auctions, equilibria, and other ec...

    Show More
    Competing Interests: None declared.