07 March 1947
Vol 105, Issue 2723

About The Cover

Three officers of the newly formed Inter-Society Committee for a National Science Foundation. Left to right: Harlow Shapley, president, AAAS vice-Chairman; Edmund E. Day, president, Cornell University, chairman; and Dael Wolfle, executive secretary, American Psychological Association, secretary-treasurer (Science, February 28). The entire Executive Committee met in Washington on March 5. President Day testified before the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce of the House of Representatives on March 6, explaining the position of the new group with respect to the proposed legislation before Congress (News and Notes).