14 March 1947
Vol 105, Issue 2724

About The Cover

The winners of the $2,400 Westinghouse scholarships in the 6th Annual Science Talent Search at an awards banquet at the Hotel Statler, Washington, on March 4: Martin Karplus, Newtonville, Massachusetts, who plans to enter Harvard as a premedical student this fall, and Vera Radioslava Demerec, Cold Spring Harbor, New York, who plans to enter Swarthmore. Pictured with the winners are Harlow Shapley, president of AAAS and chairman of the Board of Trustees, Science Service; Vannevar Bush, who delivered a congratulatory address at the banquet; and Watson Davis, director of Science Service, who acted as toastmaster.