Association Affairs

AAAS annual election: Preliminary announcement

See allHide authors and affiliations

Science  26 Aug 2016:
Vol. 353, Issue 6302, pp. 881
DOI: 10.1126/science.353.6302.881

The 2016 AAAS election of general and section officers is scheduled to begin in October. All members will receive a ballot for election of the president-elect, members of the Board of Directors, and members of the Committee on Nominations. Additionally, members registered in sections (up to three) will receive ballots for the specified section elections. Biographical information for the candidates will be provided along with ballots. The general election slate is listed below. The list of section candidates can be viewed at

Names may be placed in nomination for any office by petition submitted to the Chief Executive Officer no later than 23 September 2016. Petitions nominating candidates for president-elect, members of the Board, or members of the Committee on Nominations must bear the signatures of at least seven members of the association. A petition to place an additional name in nomination for any office must additionally be accompanied by the nominee's curriculum vitae as well as a statement of acceptance of nomination.

General Election Slate


Margaret A. Hamburg, National Academy of Medicine; Douglas S. Massey, Princeton Univ.

Board of Directors

Mark C. Fishman, Harvard Medical School; S. James Gates Jr., Univ. of Maryland, College Park; Kaye Husbands Fealing, Georgia Institute of Technology; Thomas E. Lovejoy, George Mason Univ./United Nations Foundation

Committee on Nominations

To be announced

Navigate This Article