Association Affairs

AAAS Annual Election: Preliminary Announcement

See allHide authors and affiliations

Science  25 Aug 2017:
Vol. 357, Issue 6353, pp. 767
DOI: 10.1126/science.357.6353.767

The 2017 AAAS election of general and section officers is scheduled to begin in October. All members will receive a ballot for election of the president-elect, members of the Board of Directors, and members of the Committee on Nominations. Additionally, members registered in sections (up to three) will receive ballots for the specified section elections. Biographical information for the candidates will be provided along with ballots. The general election slate is listed below. The list of section candidates can be viewed at

Notice to our international members:

In an effort to conserve resources, AAAS will be sending electronic election ballots to our non-U.S.-based members. To ensure that you receive your ballot, please make sure your email is up to date with AAAS by logging on to 1) Click on “Member Login” (if you have not yet created an account, you will be prompted to do so); 2) After you log in, click on the red “My Profile” button in the upper right-hand corner of the page; 3) Click on “Edit My Contact Information” in the left-hand sidebar; 4) Update your email and click on the “Save” button.

If you would like to request a special paper ballot, please send an email with your name and address with your request to elections{at}

General Election Slate President-Elect:

Steven Chu, Stanford University; Elias A. Zerhouni, Sanof , Inc.

Board of Directors:

Rosina M. Bierbaum, University of Michigan; Laura H. Greene, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory/Florida State University; Peter S. Kim, Stanford University; Robert S. Langer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Committee on Nominations:

Sallie (Penny) Chisholm, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Mary Frank Fox, Georgia Institute of Technology; Jeffrey I. Gordon, Washington University in St. Louis; Eric D. Isaacs, University of Chicago; Arthur Lupia, University of Michigan; Nicholas A. Peppas, University of Texas at Austin; Amita Sehgal, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine; Vaughan C. Turekian, U.S. National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

Stay Connected to Science

Navigate This Article