Contributor Lists

Complete Contributor Lists for Selected Winners of the 2009 Science and Engineering Visualization Challenge

The following honorees in the 2009 Visualization Challenge were unable to list all contributors in print for space reasons. We present a full listing for these honorees here.

Illustration: First Place
Branching Morphogenesis

Peter Lloyd Jones, Andrew Lucia, Annette Fierro, and Jenny E. Sabin
University of Pennsylvania's Sabin + Jones LabStudio

Illustration: First Place
Kuen's Surface–A Meditation on Euclid, Lobachevsky, and Quantum Fields

Richard Palais and Luc Benard
University of California, Irvine

Illustration: Honorable Mention
Jellyfish Burger

Dave Beck and Jennifer Jacquet
Clarkson University and University of British Columbia

Illustration: Honorable Mention
Back to the Future

Mario De Stefano, Antonia Auletta, and Carla Langella
The Second University of Naples

Interactive Media: First-Place Winner
Genomics Digital Lab: Cell Biology

Jeremy Friedberg, Nicole Husain, Andrea Bielecki, Andy Potvin, Mike Bonifacio, Yona Gellert, Leslie Predy, Ian Rogers, Janice Wong, Michelle Lui, Julie Sanders and Kevin Millar
Spongelab Interactive

Noninteractive Media: First-Place Winner
The Epigenetics of Identical Twins

Harmony Starr and Molly Malone
University of Utah

Noninteractive Media: First-Place Winner
Follow the Money: Human Mobility and Effective Communities

Christian Thiemann, Dirk Brockmann and Daniel Gradye
Northwestern University

Noninteractive Media: Honorable Mention
Decision Support System for Tsunami Early Warning

Nils Sparwasser, Gregor Hochleitner, Christian Gredel, Hartmut Friedl and Thorsten Andresen
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Noninteractive Media: Honorable Mention
Inside the Brain: Unraveling the Mystery of Alzheimer’s Disease

Stacy Jannis, William Dempsey, Rebekah Fredenburg, Marcelle Morrison-Bogorad, Creighton Phelps, and Stephen Snyder
Jannis Productions

Informational Graphics: First-Place Winner
Brain Development

Dwayne Godwincomic and Jorge Cham
Wake Forest University School of Medicine and

Informational Graphics: Honorable Mention
Regulation of the Cell Cycle and DNA Damage-Induced Checkpoint Activation

Erin Olson, Daphne Orlando, and Tim Manning
R&D Systems Inc.

Photography: First-Place Winner
Save Our Earth, Let’s Go Green

Sung Hoon Kang, Boaz Pokroy, and Joanna Aizenberg
Harvard University

Photography: Honorable Mention
Microbe vs. Mineral— A Life-or-Death Struggle in the Desert

Michael P. Zach
University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point

Photography: Honorable Mention
Flower Power

Russell Taylor, Briana K. Whitaker, and Briana L. Carstens
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Photography: Honorable Mention

Heiti Paves and Birger Ilau
Tallinn University of Technology